Festival of Lights

Today was Diwali – the festival of lights. Another year has passed, and once again the routine of dressing up in traditional regalia ensued and the festival was given a great start.

I wanted to go home on Diwali eve, but the plan took shape too late to get the tickets booked. And in the end, the tickets were insanley priced on the Low Cost Airlines as well. And so I ended up alone at home – with my roomie happily gone to his native place to hit two birds with one stone – firstly, to be with his parents for the celebrations and secondly, to meet a prospective girl for marriage. Poor guy … he was so tensed before leaving … but then che sara sara.

My day started very early for a Saturday. I had woken up at 9am and watched three movies since then. The sound of fire crackers woke me up from my movie slumber and I went out to get some fresh air. Just a walk to the nearest grocer to pick up a pack of bread. Now I am sitting on my laptop writing this post and thinking how much fun it would have been to be back home. And ruminating over the festive eve gone by – sans happiness, sans joy and sans celebration.

About this entry